About the Local History Collection
The Library owns an ever-growing historical and genealogical collection of the City, the Niagara River and Falls, and the Niagara Peninsula. The wide variety of rare material in these collections - including guidebooks, atlases, local histories, magazines, maps, photographs, art reproductions, newspapers, clippings, government reports and City Council minutes - are used extensively by staff and the public.
These materials can be viewed at the Victoria Avenue library. Due to the rarity and nature of these materials they are not available for loan and cannot be borrowed through the InterLibrary Loan system.
School records can be difficult to track down. Many are retained with the original school board. Records for schools administered by churches may be in the archives of their respective denominations. Some school records have been deposited with local archives or museums.
Do not forget about the "School Yearbook". They have been produced by schools and colleges for many decades and can offer a fascinating glimpse into the life of your ancestors.
Alphabetized Transcription of the Register of School Section No.7 in Stamford, known as Drummondville School, 1852-1853. Notes from Niagara, Vol.6, #4, 1986.
LHC 372.971339 Ont
Ontario Genealogical Society. Niagara Peninsula Branch. S.S.#6, 1874 Drummondville School.
Rye School, 1891- (name & age). Notes from Niagara, Vol. 8, #2,
May 1988, p. 15
LHC 971.338 W447
Tait, George. Report of an Old Fort Erie School (1844). Welland County Historical Society Papers and Records, Vol. 3, 1927,
Willoughby School #1, 1847, 1850. Notes from Niagara, Vol. 11, #4, Nov. 1991, p. 35
Willoughby School 1848-49-50, Miscellaneous Names. Notes from Niagara, Vol. 12, #2, May 1992, p. 14